top of page
Ukraine Jpeg.jpg

The Beloved and their sweet harmony...

The Beloved is an English group formed in 1986 by Jon Marsh, Steve Waddington, Tim Havard and Guy Gausden.

As the story goes, Jon Marsh reportedly ran the following ad in 1983 : “I'm Jon Marsh, founding member of Beloved. If you too want to do something incredible, I suggest you meet in exactly 3 years at 11am at the Diana’s Diner in Covent Garden ”… He will indeed meet Waddington and Havard there !

After rather sluggish beginnings and a forced evolution of their sound towards a more electronic sound, they will experience their first success in 1989 with the title "The sun rising".

Followed a year later in 1990 by the title "Hello" which will do even better than its predecessor and will become their first international hit. As well as "Time after time" and "It’s alright now", two excellent titles which will also perform well in the Charts. The album "Happiness" which came out the same year was also a notable success.

We had to wait 3 years and the year 1993 to see the release of the album "Conscience". Album of all records for the group because it remains to this day their best ranking in the Charts.

But also and above all, it offers them the biggest hit of all their discography, namely "Sweet harmony". Huge title that will go around the world and raise them to the rank of planetary stars. Title which owes its fame in part thanks to its music video which caused a sensation at the time because of the very naked aspect of most of the characters appearing there.

The other singles taken from the same album will unfortunately not experience the same enthusiasm, far from it. Ditto for the album "X" which will be released in 1996 and which will produce only one major hit with the title "Satellite".

To discover or rediscover.

Discography (among others ...) :

  • A hundred words 1986

  • Surprise me 1987

  • The sun rising 1989

  • Hello 1990

  • I love you more 1990

  • It’s alright now 1990

  • Your love takes me higher 1990

  • Time after time 1990

  • Sweet harmony 1993

  • You’ve got me thinking 1993

  • Satellite 1996

  • For your love 1996

  • Ease the pressure 1996

  • A Dream within a dream 1996

  • Deliver me 1996

  • The only girl 2005


Clips :

1986...debuts on the independent scene with a trendy sound but not necessarily general public...

1986... anyway a year 1986 that it will have allowed them to start talking about them. And rather in a positive way, it is clear...

1987... this title will pass more or less under the radar but it would have frankly deserved to be highlighted. Really unfortunate...

1987... good job again but nothing transcendental for the moment. But it will come, just be patient...

1987...the metamorphosis started and the group gets closer and closer to the latest musical trends that work. A rather good omen for the rest of the events...

1988...another title that will go somewhat unnoticed but no need to worry about them because we can feel it, the best is yet to come !

1989 ... something has changed, that's obvious. The sound is not at all the same, just like the voice. Success is now within reach ...

1990 ... a change of decade which will allow the group to reveal himself as never before. It only remains to unroll !

1990 ... it is now an uninterrupted series of high caliber hits. While waiting for the mega which is fast approaching ...

1990 ... the songs are more and more inspired and the style becomes really unique. Better and better !

1990 ... fame becomes global, as does success. The talent of the group bursts the screen and makes them one of the best groups of the moment

1990 ... an incredible 1990 where top caliber titles followed one another at an impressive speed. The group literally walks on water ...

1993 ... then nothing for 3 years. It is better to come back to 1993. And my faith, what a return ! Here they are simply signing their Masterpiece, a HUGE title that will ignite all Dancefloor on the planet and definitively consecrate them as one of the best groups of the decade. MAS-TER-FUL !

1993 ... 1990 was a big year. 1993 will also bring its share of extraordinary titles. Difficult to compete with the previous title as the bar is high, but the quality of this new title is obvious, it's clear !

1993...certainly this title will be the 'little' hit of the year but it is still the group's third hit for this year 1993. Mighty vintage !

1993...a title that will only be released in the United States, hence a limited success to say the least. Even very limited because it will not even be classified as a result...

1995...a title which will not be released officially but which it would have been a shame to hide completely. Here it is brought to light as they say...

1996...after 3 years without great relief, the group is reborn once again from its ashes but it is clear that the sound has changed, once again. A change of sound which moderately benefits the group...

1996 ... on the other hand, this one is much more inspired than its predecessor. A track which works perfectly and which shows, once again, that the group really has talent !

1996 ... a year 1996 resolutely placed under the sign of Dance. And there is some good, to say the least !

1996 ... the exception that makes the rule. The group signs here a magnificent foray into the Intimist which allows them to demonstrate once again all their versatility ...

1996...and what about this one ?! As paradoxical as it may seem, this title, all in finesse and lightness, will at least pass under the radar. Sometimes you don't have to try to understand...

2005... the group will release almost nothing thereafter except an opus of forgotten titles of which this title is a part. We take, we take !

2019...we thought we would never see them again and here they are again 14 years later with this new title. A return that will unfortunately go unnoticed to say the least...


Wiki :

Official Website :

Greatest Hits :

Discography :

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page