top of page
Ukraine Jpeg.jpg

Everywhere where they are not...

Translator is an American band formed in 1979 in Los Angeles and originally composed of Steve Barton, Larry Dekker, Dave Scheff and Robert Darlington.

Group which signs with the independent label 415 Records, label which allows them to release a first album "Hearbeats and triggers" in 1982. Album with the nice success of esteem and which will produce the single of big caliber "Everywhere that I'm not ".

New album "No time like know" in 1983, album which will mainly produce the single "Un-Alone".

It was not until 1985 to see the release of the album "Translator", an album of which several titles will do well, namely "Gravity", "O Lazarus", "Fall forever" and "Come with me".

The year 1986 saw the release of the album "Evening of the Harvest", an album which saw the group in an irreparable decline.

A decline from which he would not recover even if he attempted an impossible comeback in 2012 with the album "Big green lawn" ...

To discover or rediscover.

Discography (among others ...) :

  • Everywhere that I’m not 1982

  • Necessary spinning 1982

  • Sleaping snakes 1982

  • Break down barriers 1983

  • Un-alone 1983

  • Come with me 1984

  • Gravity 1985

  • O lazarrus 1985

  • Fall forvever 1985

  • Standing in line 1986

  • Stony gates of time 1986

  • Point of no return 1986

  • Soul on fire 2012


Clips :

1982 ... a single title, THIS title, was enough for the group to come out of the shadows and find themselves in full light. Admittedly, the success will be limited but will allow at least the group to leave a mark in the musical history of the Eighties. It is already that !

1982 ... on the other hand, it is clear that it is not with such tempos that the group risks to impose himself on the general public. Too bad because this story was off to a good start ...

1982 ... rock fundamentals that can be found on each title. An obvious bias that will be their strength as much as their weakness ...

1983 ... rare for an American group to have such an 'English' sound. It is really hard to imagine that we are indeed in the USA ...

1983 ... a salutary change of year which saw the group regain a level of inspiration worthy of the name. Like what, when they want ...

1984 ... the sound evolution is obvious and de facto repositioned the group on the general public market, it was about time !

1985 ... chase the natural, it comes back at a gallop. Even if the sonic evolution is obvious, the tempo, to say the least, remains particularly high. We will not remake them again as we say ...

1985 ... the group alternates everything and its opposite in terms of rhythms but mainly fast rhythms. A little sweetness wouldn't have hurt, on the contrary

1985 ... it is clear that the group will not remain as the most talented of its generation but its discography holds up, it is clear. We will largely be satisfied ...

1986 ... well, things don't get better on the tempo side. A totally counterproductive bias that unfortunately marginalized them more than anything else ...

1986 ... return to more or less normal bases. And again, for them, pretty much normal bases are two notches above the rest in terms of overspeed ...

1986 ... finally a more or less normal title. We no longer believed in it and yet they did ! The rock bases remain predominant but it's always better than nothing !

2012 ... we thought the case folded after their previous title but it was bad to know them. Here they are back 26 years later as if nothing had happened and the least we can say is that they have not changed. At least musically speaking ...


Wiki :

Greatest Hits :

Discography :

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page