top of page
Ukraine Jpeg.jpg

Word of mouth...

Mike and The Mechanics is an English group formed in 1985 by Mike Rutherford, ex Genesis. Who will be quickly joined by Paul Carrack, Paul Young, Adrian Lee and Peter Van Hooke.

It all started when Mike Rutherford began a solo career in the early 1980s alongside Genesis. Solo career which allows him to release the albums "Smallcreep's day" and "Acting very strange". But that will only have modest success.

He then realizes that only a group will allow him to fill the lack of inspiration and creativity of which he is then victim. This is how Mike + the Mechanics was born.

The group’s eponymous debut album was released the same year as their formation and for a baptism of fire, it was a real success. The album is a global hit. In particular thanks to the sumptuous single "Silent running (On dangerous ground)" and to a lesser extent to "All I need i s a miracle" released in 1986.

They will have to wait 3 years and the year 1989 to be propelled to the top of the Charts thanks to the album "The living years". Flagship album of their discography which will produce their biggest hit with the eponymous single. The group's notoriety is at its zenith.

In 1991 the album "Word of mouth" was released, a new success mainly driven by the eponymous single.

Another four years passed before the album "Beggar on a beach of gold" was released in 1995. The years go by but the quality is still there, the album is again a big success, especially across the Channel. This time, it's the flagship single "Over my shoulder" that creates the event.

This will be the last notable success of the group despite releasing other albums afterwards.

To discover or rediscover.

Discography (among others ...) :

  • Silent running (On dangerous ground) 1985

  • All I need is a miracle 1986

  • Taken in 1986

  • Nobody’s perfect 1988

  • The living years 1989

  • Seeing is believing 1989

  • Nobody knows 1989

  • Word of mouth 1991

  • Time and place 1991

  • Everybody gets a second chance 1991

  • Over my shoulder 1995

  • A beggar on a beach of gold 1995

  • Another cup of coffee 1995

  • Now that you've gone 1999

  • If I were you 2004

  • Reach out (Touch the sun) 2011

  • Don't know what came over me 2017

  • What would you do 2019


Clips :

1985 ... for its first single, the group signed here a HUGE hit that will undeniably remain as one of the biggest titles of the decade. We couldn't ask for a better start. MAS-TER-FUL !

1986 ... taking advantage of the enormous air intake caused by the previous title, the group directly capitalizes with this second title

1986 ... the bellows fall somewhat. It must be said that the start was so overwhelming that it was obvious that the group could not continue at such a sustained pace ...

1988 ... nothing in 1987. We find them in great shape 1 year later with this particularly inspired piece which once again shows all their talent

1989 ... but it is THIS title which will consecrate them definitively and make them return to the musical pantheon of the 80s. They simply sign here the biggest success of all their discography !

1989 ... as very often after mega hits, the rest may seem a little pale. And this despite a title with obvious energy !

1989 ... a year 1989 bloated in terms of titles with quality on all levels, what more could you ask for. Of course, this title will be the 'little' hit of the year, but we take it, that's clear !

1991 ... new empty year in 1990. They really like breaks. And it obviously works for them every time. The proof with this once again winning return !

1991 ... the group delivers here a Intimist title of all beauty which, paradoxically, will meet only a limited success after all. Sometimes you don't have to try to understand ...

1991 ... a beautiful year 1991 which saw them record a second major success. A transition to the 90s succeeds. For the moment...

1995 ... already 10 years ! 10 years of existence for a group with a certain talent and which obtains here a last notable success. Other titles will follow but without ever equaling the qualitative level of the previous ones

1995 ... even if the group is now more doing some figuration than anything else, it is clear that they still have some under the pedal. For how much longer, good question ...

1995 ... an inspiration which fades over the years and which no longer allows the group to remain in the Elite. When it no longer wants, it no longer wants ...

1999 ... which does not prevent them from still believing in it and moving forward at all costs. They are the only ones left to believe in it, but who would blame them ...

2004 ... they will even attempt the transition to the 2000s. With a level of success at the level of the daisies but that does not prevent them from continuing to deliver titles to us of more than certain quality ...

2011 ... here they are in the following decade. It is clear that the group no longer has anything to do with its composition, and especially its original style, but he continues its little path quietly but surely ...

2017 ... unbelievable as it may seem, the group spends the years and decades with a determination to say the least astonishing. But how far will they go ...?

2019 ... almost 35 years after their debut, they are still here ! We can therefore imagine that we will find them again the following decade. To be continued ...


Wiki :

Official Website :

Greatest Hits :

Discography :

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page