top of page
Ukraine Jpeg.jpg

Thank you Madame Curie...

Kraftwerk is a German group formed in 1970 in Dusseldorf by Ralf Hütter and Florian Schneider and whose particularity is to be one of the pioneer groups of so-called "electronic" music.

It all started at the end of the 1960s when two students enrolled at Robert Schumann Hochscule in Dusseldorf shared a common passion for experimental music.

They then found themselves in a quintet called "Organization", an ephemeral formation that would produce a unique album called "Tone float".

It was therefore from the early 1970s that Kraftwerk saw the light of day, producing a first self-titled album in 1970, followed in 1972 by the album "Kraftwerk 2", two very experimental and only instrumental albums.

The first sonic evolution took place in 1973 with the release of the album "Ralfund Florian" where the part of synthesizers became more and more important. Followed in 1974 by the album "Autobahn" which is situated in the same sound movement but which will be the starting point of the group's recognition, in particular in the USA where he recorded very good sales scores. In particular thanks to the eponymous single.

But 1976 was to change everything when the album "Radio-Activity" was released, which produced the single of the same name and sounded incredibly revolutionary for the time. Single which can be considered to this day as one of the most revolutionary hits of the last 30 years. The success of the album is limited this time to Europe, but what a success ! The notoriety of the group explodes.

A year later in 1977, the album “Trans-Europe Express” was released, which was less successful than the previous one, but was equally enthusiastic about the Old Continent.

It was in 1978 that the group achieved consecration with the album "The Man-Machine" which remains to this day their biggest commercial success, notably thanks to 2 flagship singles "The robots". As well as "The model", single which will not be released until 1981 (!) And which will be a real hit that year.

We had to wait 3 years and the year 1981 to see the release of the album "Computer world" from which the single "Computer love" was mainly extracted. The album is a success, the single on the other hand will have to be content with a much more modest success.

The group will end in style in 1983 with the release of the single "Tour de France", flagship single and last notorious success of the group.

Other titles will be released afterwards, but they cannot compete with the same level of inspiration as the previous albums.

Flagship group of the 70s/80s, as innovative and inspired as Jean-Michel Jarre, Tangerine Dream, Pink Floyd, Vangelis and others Mike Olfield, this group will have left in the musical history of the 80s certain pieces of anthology.

In particular this one whose lyrics are now cult: "Radioactivity is in the air for you and me, Radioactivity discovered by madame Curie ..."

To discover or rediscover...


Discography (among others ...) :

70s Decade :

  • Ruckzuck 1970

  • Megahertz 1970

  • Klingklang 1972

  • Strom 1972

  • Elektrisches roulette 1973

  • Tongebirge 1973

  • Ananas symphonie 1973

  • Autobahn 1974

  • Radioactivity 1976

  • Trans-Europe express 1977

  • Europe endless 1978

  • The robots 1978

80s Decade :

  • Pocket calculator 1981

  • The model 1981

  • Computer love 1981

  • Tour de france 1983

  • Musique non stop 1986

  • The telephone call 1987


Tracks :

1970...the first steps of one of the most inventive but also the most disconcerting bands of the end of the 20th century...

1970... an inventiveness pushed to the extreme and difficult to understand by ordinary mortals. At least at this stage...

1972 ... no noticeable improvement 2 years later in terms of standardization of style and sound. Anyway, you have to understand that nothing will ever be 'normal' with them...

1972... not easy in these conditions to break through to the highest level. They're really going to have to work on a sound that's a little more 'general public'...

1973... there was a slight improvement in this year 1973. Things were moving in the right direction and slowly but surely brought them closer to a very high level...

1973... there is still a long way to go, of course, but we feel that the group will end up producing at least one title that will bring them from shadow to light in a consistent way...

1973... for the big take-off it won't be for this year 1973 yet. But it could be that the year to come has a nice and big surprise in store for them...

1974 ... after several unsuccessful attempts, the time for revelation has come. Their first global mega hit. A totally revolutionary sound for the time and incredibly ahead of its time. Sound shock guaranteed !

1976 ... but that's without counting on this title. An amazing title, which will surely remain as their Masterpiece and which will deeply mark an entire era !

1977 ... sound innovation is permanent and the group is really at the forefront of the best of the time in terms of electronic music

1978 ... admittedly, this song will not remain as their best known but frankly deserves the detour. So why bother ...

1978 ... each new track amazes, clashes and creates events. You really have to put yourself in the context of the time to realize the incredible quality of their compositions

1981 ... small air hole of 3 years, we find them directly in the following decade. And the least we can say is that they still do in the damn wacky at times. But that's what also makes all the difference with others !

1981 ... the result is always remarkable, whatever the song. As for the melodic base, it is always of quality and that is a constant with them !

1981 ... they sign here the 2nd biggest hit of their career. Almost 10 years after their official debut. A longevity based on an extraordinary talent which lasts over time !

1983 ... nothing to eat in 1982. Here they are again in 1983 with an incredible title, which shows an obvious sonic evolution and once again ahead of its time. Result : new top hit !

1986 ... new 3 years air hole. Here they are again with a new level of sound. A sound that surprisingly resembles another legendary group that plays in the same category. A certain Art of Noise ...

1987 ... the end of the adventure. A last major title which ends an exceptional career for one of the most innovative groups of the end of the 20th century. Respect !


Wiki :

Official Website :

Greatest Hits :

Discography :

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page