Ukraine Jpeg.jpg

Such a shame...

Talk Talk is an English group formed in the early 1980s in London by Mark Hollis after the disbandment of his former group "The Reaction".

Assisted by his brother Ed, they recruit Paul Webb, Lee Harris, two childhood friends and Simon Brenner.

The first demos "Candy", "Mirror man" and "Talk talk" saw the light of day in 1981 and allowed the group to obtain a contract with the label EMI Records.

A year later in 1982 released the first album "The party's over". The flagship titles "Talk talk" and "Today" meet a significant and almost global success.

And it was in 1984 that the group achieved its biggest worldwide success with the release of the album "It’s my life". Album from which will be extracted two huge hits that are "It’s my life" and "Such a shame". This album, paradoxically, will only experience relative success across the Channel !

A success across the Channel which will indeed take place two years later in 1986 when the album "The color of spring" was released. A flagrant change of tone for this album whose main hit will be "Life's what you make it".

In 1988 the album "Spirit of Eden" was released which once again saw the group's sound evolve. Sadly, fans are confused and the album is a commercial failure despite good reviews.

A last album "Laughing stock" will be released in 1991 but the group will be unable to redress the bar and will eventually separate in 1992.

An incredible adventure that will definitively end for Mark Hollis on February 25, 2019, the date of his death at the age of 64. A death which will spell the end of a style and a musical genius that will be extremely difficult to find in future generations ...

To discover or rediscover.

Discography (among others ...) :

  • Mirror man 1982

  • Talk talk 1982

  • Today 1982

  • Another world 1982

  • My foolish friend 1983

  • It’s my life 1984

  • Such a shame 1984

  • Dum dum girl 1984

  • Tomorrow started 1984

  • Life’s what you make it 1986

  • Living in another world 1986

  • Give it up 1986

  • Time it’s time 1986

  • I believe in you 1988

  • After the flood 1991


Clips :

1982 ... the debut of one of the most talented bands of its generation. A unique sound and above all a style that will do wonders in the years to come !

1982 ... the rise in power is done slowly, but surely. The group shows title after title a talent more than obvious, bordering on extraordinary. And that's only the beginning !

1982 ... each title produced is a real success. For a first year of existence, the maturity of the group is to say the least bluffing !

1982 ... 4 big caliber singles in the first year, who could say better ? We feel that with this group, something big will happen. And the rest will prove it in a brilliant way !

1983 ... new title with a certain quality and which consolidates the status of undisputed rising value of the group. And the best is yet to come !

1984 ... then comes THIS title. They deliver here quite simply one of the biggest hits of the decade 80. The title which reveals them to the eyes of the whole world and propels them in spheres of recognition that they could never have imagined. HU-GE !

1984 ... the supreme consecration with this extraordinary title which will make a real worldwide hit and ignite all Dancefloors ! 2 tracks were enough to make them definitely fit into the musical legend of the 80s. MAS-TER-FUL !

1984 ... a decidedly exceptional year 1984 with a 3rd worldwide hit. The group literally walks on water and everything they touch now turns to gold !

1984 ... the antipodes of the previous titles, the group delivers here a sumptuous title all in finesse which literally floats in the air. A style versatility that is only found with the greatest, that's clear !

1986 ... another exceptional piece. The style and the sound have evolved somewhat...which in no way alters an inspiration of still Premium quality. PHE-NO-ME-NAL !

1986 ... that's for sure that they live in another world...especially on the always crazy style of their clips. Regarding the quality of the titles on the other hand, nothing to complain about, the level is maintained at stratospheric heights !

1986 ... a style which evolves in a blatant way but which remains perfectly in adequacy with the standards of the moment. Hope it lasts ...

1986 ... yet another sumptuous track which shows once again that the Intimist does not scare them at all. A talent that is really well above the norm and in this way indisputable !

1988 ... major turning point on the sound side. The fans of the first hour will not get over it, just like the group ...

1991 ... a great adventure that a somewhat disconcerting way. We would have liked a more glorious end but how can we blame them ? The adventure was truly incredible and will have left in history at least 2 Masterpieces. Few bands of their generation can say the same !


Wiki :

Facebook Page :

Greatest Hits :

Discography :

Recent Posts

See All