top of page
Ukraine Jpeg.jpg

Only time will tell...

Saga is a Canadian band formed in 1977 in Oakville and originally composed of Michael Sadler, Ian Chrichton, Jim Chrichton, Peter Rochon and Steve Negus. A group that can boast of having sold no less than 8 million records worldwide to date.

Group which released a first eponymous album a year later in 1978, album which will go unnoticed to say the least.

The next one, "Images at twilight", which came out in 1979, fared a bit better and gave the band their first ranked title with the single "It’s time (Chapter three)".

The rise in power is linear and sees the group spread its fame with the album "Silent Knight", album which was released in 1980 but which struggled to produce any single of the planetary classification.

Their efforts will finally be rewarded when the album "Worlds apart" was released in 1981, an album which finally allowed them to break into the international market, notably thanks to the single "On the loose". But also, and above all, "Wind him up", the band's flagship title which to this day remains their biggest single record success.

New album "Heads or tales" two years later in 1983, album which saw the group keep in contact with the best. Album which will mainly produce the title "The flyer".

Due to an album every 2 years, the year 1985 saw the release of the album "Behavior", album which definitively consecrated the group with a new notorious success on the title "What do I know".

The 2-year-old logic was respected once again with the release in 1987 of the album "Wildest dreams", an album with less success than its predecessors and which produced their last major single, "Only time will tell".

A decline in success that will only increase in the years and especially the decade that will follow, despite the release of several other albums ...

To discover or rediscover.

Discography (among others ...) :

  • How long 1978

  • It’s time 1979

  • See them smile 1979

  • Slow motion 1979

  • Don't be late 1980

  • Wind him up 1981

  • On the loose 1981

  • The flyer 1983

  • Scratching the surface 1983

  • Take a chance 1985

  • What do I know 1985

  • Only time will tell 1987

  • Angel 1987

  • As I am 1989

  • Once is never enough 1993

  • Alone again tonight 1993

  • Never alone 1994

  • Shake the tree 1994

  • I walk with you 1994

  • The cross 1995


Clips :

1978 ... beginnings that will go somewhat unnoticed. The group is far from being ridiculous but it is clear that he still has a little work to do before joining the big leagues ...

1979 ... the first title that allows them to make themselves known in the North American sphere. And at the same time to obtain their 1st title classified in Canada. It's all starting to smell good ...

1979 ... even if this title will not be classified, it shows that this group really has everything to do great things. So let's be patient ...

1979 ... just like its predecessor, this title will not be classified but will have a nice run in the Radios. It's already that as they say ...

1980 ... the beginning of the 80's will not see any major changes in their style. Still no top hit on the horizon unfortunately ...

1981 ... in one year, everything has evolved in the right direction, the style as well as the sound. Race results : 1st global hit. It just goes to show that work pays off !

1981 ... which will remain as their biggest success in the United States and their biggest success at all. In just 3 years, the group will have been able to inscribe its name in the musical Pantheon of the 80s. Beautiful feat !

1983 ... nothing during the year 1982 and return in a certain form in this year 1983. Certain form but which sees them doing something on the spot ...

1983 ... a year 1983 which will not be remembered as their best vintage. They are far from demerit, but the competition is increasingly fierce. They will therefore have to redouble their efforts to avoid leaving the road prematurely ...

1985 ... which will surely remain as one of their most successful titles. And the height of the paradox, it will go completely under the radar. There are times, you shouldn't try to understand ...

1985 ... on the other hand, this one will not go unnoticed, far from it. It allows the group to obtain his second biggest success and add a well-deserved star to their prize list. All good little guys !

1987 ... a great adventure which will reach its limits with this title, a title which will be their last classified. They will continue to produce albums but none will be able to produce any new ranked hits. Hard law of the trade ...

1987 ... one of their very rare Intimist titles. It would have been a shame not to highlight it because even if it will not be the Slow of the year, it holds up, it's clear ...

1989 ... the end of the decade which frankly sees them struggling. Especially in the Charts because on the qualitative side, they manage to maintain themselves at a largely sufficient level ...

1993 ... they are back the following decade. They continue the adventure for whatever reason and still believe in it. Unfortunately, good will is not always enough to move mountains ...

1993 ... a new sweet break which shows that they still have some under their feet. Unfortunately, the general public has looked elsewhere since the end of the 80s ...

1994 ... the production of titles is impressive and the quality always of setting. But they missed the turn of the 90s and they have not finished paying the price ...

1994 ... frankly a shame because what they continue to offer frankly deserved a little more important listening on the part of the general public. But when it doesn't want anymore, it doesn't want anymore ...

1994 ... another lovely moment of finesse and lightness. A field that they will have little exploited but in which they will have shown more than obvious aptitudes !

1995 ... other titles and other albums will be released thereafter but the group will never find again the level of excellence which he reached during the decade 80. Hard law of the trade ...


Wiki :

Official Website :

Greatest Hits :

Discography :

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page