• Nostra Dam

Just need a friend...

Texas is a Scottish group formed in 1986 by Johnny McElhone and Sharleen Spiteri.

The name of the group would be a reference to the film by Win Wenders "Paris, Texas".

Their first single "I don’t want a lover" was released in early 1989. It's a global hit !

Their first album "Southside" was released in the process and also performed well.

Three other singles will be extracted namely "Thrill has gone", "Everyday now" and "Prayer for you". Singles who will not experience the same craze as the enormous first.

The next album "Mothers heaven" was released in 1991. Preceded by the single "Why believe in you" which was only relatively successful.

The next "In my heart" will not do better. The group will save the furniture with "Alone with you", single released in 1992 and which will achieve a slightly more glorious journey. An off-album single, “Tired of being alone”, also released in 1992, will finally allow them to reconnect with the Top20 Charts.

In 1993 the album "Ricks road" was released, preceded by two singles "So called friend" and "You owe it all to me".

A third single “So in love with you” was released in 1994.

Good scores but nothing more for the 3.

It was not until 1997 and the release of the flagship single "Say what you want" to see the group finally reconnect with the Top5 Charts.

A success by calling another, the album "White on blonde" was released shortly after and will go down in history as the group's biggest success. About 1,800,000 copies will be sold ! Album from which will also be extracted "Black eyed boy" which will also end up in the Top5.

The group will experience one last major success with the single "Summers son" which will be released two years later in 1999.

A group still active, Texas will have had the merit of deeply marking two decades with high quality titles and you never know, can they perhaps mark a third…

To discover or rediscover.

Discography (among others ...) :

• I don’t want a lover 1989

• Thrill has gone 1989

• Every day now 1989

• Prayer for you 1989

• Why believe in you 1991

• In my heart 1991

• Alone with you 1992

• Tired of being alone 1992

• So called friend 1993

• So in love with you 1994

• Say what you want 1997

• Halo1997

• Black eyed boy 1997

• Put your arms around me 1997

• In our lifetime 1999

• Summer son 1999

• When we are together 1999

Clips :

1989 ... the world is in shock. And especially under the charm of this beautiful and dark brunette by the name of Sharleen. A group out of nowhere and who here surely signs one of the biggest hits of the 80s. MAS-TER-FUL !

1989 ... a quality suite but which cannot compete with the previous track as the bar has been raised. But a good job all the same !

1989 ... the confirmation of an obvious talent. Undoubtedly this group is one of the most beautiful revelations of this end of decade !

1989 ... 4 titles classified from the first year of existence including 3 top hits and 1 mega hit. Who says better ? A career start to say the least shattering !

1991 ... after an empty year in 1990, they are back in great shape to start this new decade as best as possible

1991 ... a style still as effective, to say the least. Definitely everything to please this group !

1992 ... even if the group does not manage to reproduce the exploit of their very first title, the level remains constant and that is the essential

1992 ... in a more intimate style, the group plays it more in restraint and it works rather not bad my faith ...

1993 ... a group at the crossroads and looking for himself. A new lease of life is needed. Be patient ...

1994 ... the Beauty has aged, the Beauty has matured, things are evolving slowly but surely. Unfortunately, that does not prevent the group from being at the bottom of the wave in this mid-1990s ...

1997 ... inspiration is back and so is success. A new mega hit that allows them to return to the front of the stage in a smashing fashion. Phew !

1997 ... surprisingly, this title will go somewhat under the radar. And yet it is far from demerit, that is clear. Sometimes you shouldn't try to understand ...

1997 ... a huge year 1997 which sees them align mega hit on mega hit. A resounding return at the height of a decidedly extraordinary talent !

1997 ... and it continues ! Another sumptuous, highly inspired title that literally floats in the air

1999 ... an end of decade of beauty with a year which will produce several of their best titles. 10 years of career on the clock and the group is doing the best it can be. Talent, the real one !

1999 ... and what about that one. Grand once again ! Unquestionably one of the best bands of this end of the XXth century !

1999 ... 2 mega hits and 1 top hit just for 1999. The group is at the height of its possibilities and especially of its art. And it's not over, see you next decade...

Wiki :


Official Website :


Greatest Hits :