Japanese love song...

Ten Sharp is a Dutch group that was founded in 1982, originally called Streets. It was composed at the time of Marcel Kapteijn, Niels Hermes, Martin Boers, Ton Groen and Joop Van De Berg.

It is the CBS Records label that is interested in them first and that will ask them to change their name because another group has the same name across the Atlantic. So it was in 1984 that the group took its final name Ten Sharp.

The group released his first single "When the snow falls" in 1985, a single which enjoyed great success in the Netherlands. Just like “Japanese lovesong” which comes out the same year.

Unfortunately, the group is unable to confirm in the years that follow all the good that one could think of them and the 2 singles released in 1986 and 1987 will meet only a very limited success. With the direct consequence of an outright eviction from the label.

The group will be reborn from its ashes at the beginning of the 1990s in a somewhat reshaped form. Fewer members and above all a newfound inspiration that allows the group to sign with the Columbia label. Inspiration found which allows them to release a first album called "Under the water line". Album from which the single "You" will be extracted first, an absolutely incredible single which will shatter everything in its path, become a huge global hit and literally explode the notoriety of the group.

Album which will also produce the singles "Ain’t my beating heart" and "Rich man", two high caliber singles which will confirm the obvious quality of this highly inspired album.

A dazzling success that will only be short-lived as the group will plunge back into the abyss of oblivion as quickly as he had emerged some time before. All the albums and singles that will be released subsequently will have very limited success ...

To discover or rediscover.

Discography (among others ...) :

  • When the snow falls 1985

  • Japanese love song 1985

  • Last words 1986

  • Way of the west 1987

  • You 1991

  • Ain’t my beating heart 1991

  • When the spirits sleeps away 1991

  • Some sails 1991

  • Rich man 1992

  • Dreamhome (Dream on) 1993

  • Lines on your face 1993

  • Rumours in the city 1994

  • Feel my love 1995

  • Harvest for the world 1997

Clips :

1985 ... an excellent first track which immediately shows the trend : this group is particularly gifted for the Intimist. A gift that will be vividly confirmed in the years that will follow ...

1985 ... the group confirms with this second title all the good that one could think of them. This band has a lot of talent to spare, like many Dutch bands of the time

1986 ... small year 1986 with only one title on the clock. A title that will pass completely under the radar and which, suddenly, relegates the group somewhat to the depths of the abyss ...

1987 ... small year 1987 with only one title on the clock. Here, I have the impression of repeating myself. The worst part is that the group does not demerit, far from it. But after a most encouraging start to their career, the group struggles to confirm a talent that is nevertheless obvious

1991 ... faced with these repeated failures, the group in its original version is not going to withstand the storm and simply disappears. It is therefore a new version of the group that we find in this year 1991 and the change is radical to say the least ! A radical and above all salutary change which allows the group to sign here quite simply one of the most beautiful Intimist titles of the 90s, if not of the end of the 20th century. Be careful, at this level, we almost touch the MAS-TER-PIE-CE !

1991 ... as very often in these cases, the sequel struggles to compete with the jewel that preceded it. There will be success on this title, of course, but on a small scale. Be careful not to let go, otherwise you will dive straight back into the depths of the rankings ...

1991 ... a BIG year 1991 with a plethora of titles and quality on every level. Unfortunately, what was to be feared is happening, that is to say that the group inexorably unscrews in the Charts. A loosening that it will be very hard for them to stop ...

1991 ... which is all the more surprising is that the public has already moved on to something else concerning them while each title produced is a real success. Go figure ...

1992 ... new single-title year. The group temporarily returns to success and again, a small success. Always better than nothing as they say ...

1993 ... a return of success which is confirmed with this title. When we see the quality of all the titles produced by this group, we are frankly surprised that they only remained in history for a 'One Shot'. Frankly shame ...

1993 ... a talent for the Intimist who no longer needs to be proven, that's clear. They will undoubtedly remain one of the very best groups in this field at the end of the 20th century

1994 ... the group continues on its way without worrying too much about the results in the Charts. The success is very minimalist but quality is once again essential. We will therefore be satisfied with it !

1995 ... already 10 years of existence and it is clear that they have lost nothing of their enthusiasm and especially of their talent. Even if they haven't been at the top of the Charts for a long time, they still believe in it and their stubbornness can only command respect !

1997 ... a nice cover of the flagship title of the Isley Brothers dating from 1976 as a gift of the end of the decade. A decade that saw them literally explode but also disappear once again. A disappearance from which they will not recover this time ...

Wiki :


Official Website :


Greatest Hits :


Discography :