Ukraine Jpeg.jpg


Alison Moyet is an English singer, songwriter and composer whose particularity is to have an atypical contralto voice.

She will have placed no less than 7 albums in the Top30 English albums of which 2 will have reached the place of N ° 1. As well as 9 singles in the Top30 singles including 5 in the Top10.

After leaving school at the age of 16, she did odd jobs and participated in groups like "The Vandals", "The Screamin’ Ab Dabs ","The Vicars " and other " Little Roosters "....

It was at the age of 21 that her destiny changed when she formed the duo "Yazoo" with an ex member of the Depeche Mode, namely "Vince Clarke".

The duo will produce in 1982 the cult single "Don’t go" and some other titles of good invoices before separating in 1983. Clarke forming for its part The Assembly then Erasure and Moyet leaving it in a solo career.

The singer released her first solo album "Alf" in 1984 from which no less than 3 world hits will be extracted, including "Love resurrection", "Invisible" and "All cried out". The album will be a huge success.

In 1985 the single "That Ole Devil Called Love" was released, which will be ranked N ° 2 in the Top English singles and remains to this day its biggest commercial success.

A year later, in 1986, she continued to ride the top of the wave with her single "Is this love" (co-written by Dave Stewart of Eurythmics) which in turn had a very good journey.

Like the single "Love letters" which came out in 1987.

It took four years to see the less successful album "Hoodoo" released in 1991.

Followed three years later by the album "Essex", which was also less successful despite the presence of the excellent "Whispering your name".

These will be the last major successes of this extraordinary singer.

Out of the ordinary as much by the physical as by this very particular voice which makes her a unique model !

To discover or rediscover.

Discography (among others ...) :

• All cried out 1984

• Love resurrection 1984

• Invisible 1984

• That ole devil called love 1985

• Is this love 1986

• Weak in the presence of beauty 1987

• Ordinary girl 1987

• Love letters 1987

• Sleep like breathing 1987

• It wont be long 1991

• This house 1991

• Falling 1993

• Whispering your name 1994


Clips :

1984 ... the first solo title. Alison no longer needs anyone to shine on her own. The proof with this title more than certain quality !

1984 ... a second sumptuous title, all in finesse and which shows the full extent of the singer's talent. And there is talent !

1984 ... the pass of 3, a third top hit to end the year in style. An exceptional year 1984 which propels the singer to the summit of success

1985 ... a jazzy little parenthesis which, as paradoxical as it may seem, offers her its best sales score

1986 ... the tempo re-accelerates. Only one small title for the year 1986 but quality, as always. With her, never bad surprises, it's clear !

1987 ... the beginning of the metamorphosis. Everything will change with the singer, except the voice. Changes necessary to be able to stay at the highest level, end of the 80s obliges !

1987 ... a track that spins at 200 km/h, rather rare at home. Admittedly, she excels in the Intimist but is not ridiculous, far from it, in other areas

1987 ... in duo mode. An extremely rare thing in her. Plus on a sumptuous Ultimate Slow that literally floats in the air

1987 ... new sweet parenthesis. Hunt the natural, it comes back at a gallop. Her last notorious hit unfortunately. Tough law of the trade as they say ...

1991 ... small air hole of 4 years and here she is again in great shape in this year 1991. Certainly, the style and the sound have slightly evolved ... For good or in bad ? Hum hum...

1991 ... she delivers here a sumptuous ballad, with a certain inspiration but with a particularly dark universe ...

1993 ... nothing in 1992. We find her a year later in 1993 in an original musical register that we had never known before ...

1994 ... by way of conclusion, here surely comes one of his best titles thanks to this luxury cover of the title of Ignatius Jones and dating from 1983. HU-GE !


Wiki :

Official Website :

Greatest Hits :

Discography :

Recent Posts

See All