top of page
Ukraine Jpeg.jpg

Everybody have fun tonight...

Wang Chung is an English band formed in London in 1980 and originally composed of Nick DeSpig (real name Nick Feldman), Jack Hues (real name Jeremy Rider) and Darren Darwin (real name Darren Costin). A strange band name which would actually be a reference to the Chinese term meaning "Yellow Bell", but which is also a term for the basic reference of the Chinese musical scale.

The group released their first single "Isn’t it about time we were on TV" the same year, a single that will go somewhat unnoticed. 1981 couldn't get any better with the single "Hold back the tears". Ditto for the year 1982 with the singles "TI na na", "China" and "Dance hall days" and their first album called "Huang chung", name of the group at the time.

The same “Dance hall days” which will be released two years later in 1984 and this time will be a hit all over the world ! Single which will remain as the group’s most successful record single and which will literally explode their notoriety internationally. Single from the album "Point on the Curve" which came out the same year and which gave the group their biggest album success.

The group took the opportunity to change its name from "Huang Chung" to "Wang Chung", more easily pronounced, because journalists systematically call them "Hung Chung" ...

Small relapse in 1985 with two disappointing singles that are "To live and die in L.A." and "Fire in the twilight".

Massive return to success the following year in 1986 with the release of the album "Mosaic", an album of moderate global success, which nonetheless produced their second mega hit with the title "Everybody have fun tonight". As well as "Let’s go" which will also experience significant success in the Charts.

Return of the short-lived success because the album "The warmer side of cool" which will be released three years later in 1989 will know only a very limited success and will struggle to produce any single of big caliber except the title "Praying to a new god ”.

A failure that will seal the fate of the group which will eventually separate the following year.

To discover or rediscover.

Discography (among others ...) :

  • Stand still 1980

  • Hold back the tears 1981

  • China 1982

  • Don’t be my enemy 1983

  • Don’t let go 1984

  • Dance hall days 1984

  • Wait 1984

  • To live and die in L.A. 1985

  • Fire in the twilight 1985

  • Everybody have fun tonight 1986

  • Let’s go 1987

  • Hypnotize me 1987

  • Praying to a new god 1989

  • Space junk 1997

  • Rent free 2011


Clips :

1980 ... at this stage, it is clear that they still have some way to go before they can hope to join the big leagues ...

1981 ... it's a little better but nothing exceptional so far. They will have to raise the level of play a little, otherwise the adventure may come to an end ...

1982 ... it will not yet be for this year 1982. But things are improving, we have to admit. The style is refined, as is the sound. It will necessarily end up paying off ....

1983 ... the efforts finally pay off. Of course, this title will not be the mega hit of the year but the group finally obtains its first classified title. In addition on both sides of the Atlantic. This time, it's well and truly gone !

1984 ... the year of the consecration, the real one. Starting with this title which gives the group its first global top hit. And that's just the beginning !

1984 ... a first version had been released two years earlier and had gone unnoticed to say the least. This one, conversely, will not go unnoticed, far from it ! The group simply signs here one of the biggest dance hits of the year and its biggest record success. MAS-TER-FUL !

1984 ... the 'little' hit of the year. But how to compete with the previous steamroller, mission almost impossible !

1985 ... a year 1985 which will not really have the same brilliance as the year 1984. With the key to a level of success in free fall. Attention danger...

1985 ... to participate in the soundtrack of a trendy film of the moment is always rewarding but on this occasion, it will not pay more than that for the group. Pity...

1986 ... fortunately, the group found the necessary resources to bounce back and returned to the race in a spectacular way, to say the least. Phew !

1987 ... the comeback is confirmed in this year 1987. The group has found a sufficient level of inspiration to exist again at the highest level. All good little guys !

1987 ... the return of inspiration is confirmed with this new title. A group that will undoubtedly remain as one of the most talented of its generation !

1989 ... the return to the front of the stage will have unfortunately been short lived. Empty year in 1988 and return to average shape in 1989. In short, it smacks of the end all that ...

1997 ... the group simply disappears for 8 years and returns with this title. An unlikely return and above all a failed return because this title will go completely under the radar ...

2011 ... just like this one. It's well tried but the 80s are definitely far away and the band will never come to the surface and whatever the attempts ...


Wiki :

Official Website :

Greatest Hits :

Discography :

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page