Children of the moon ...

Mecano is surely by far the most emblematic Spanish group of the 80s. It all started for them in 1980 when Ana Torroja Fungairino, singer and dancer, decided to form a group with 2 childhood friends, José Maria Andres and Inacio "Nacho". The formation quickly took the name of Mecano. In 1981, after having contacted several record labels, it was CBS in the end who made them sign and which allowed them to release their 1 single: "Hoy no me puedo levantar". It's a success. The first album was released in 1982 and was a hit with young people. But also with seniors, something extremely rare. In 1983, it was the single "Barco a venus" that hit the headlines. And Mecano is gradually becoming as famous for the quality of its melodies as for the extravagant side of its clothing. But it was in 1987 that the group literally took off on a planetary level with the single "Hijo de la luna". And 1988 will be the year of the apotheosis with the now cult single "Mujer contra mujer" which remains to this day one of the 20 most melodically successful titles of the 80s. 1991 will be too many years, and the group, tired and exhausted, will take a break which will unfortunately prove to be definitive. Until 1998 when he reformed exceptionally to record 8 new songs which will be included in a special compilation. To discover or rediscover. Discography (among others ...) :

• Hoy no me puedo levantar 1981

• Per dido en mi habitation 1981

• Me cole en una fiesta 1981

• La fiesta nacional 1983

• Barco a venus 1983

• Japon 1984

• Busco algo barato 1984

• Hawaî Bombay 1985

• Ay, que pasado 1986

• Cruz de Navajas 1986

• No es serio este cementerio 1987

• Hijo de la luna 1987

• Mujer contra Mujer 1988

• La fuerza del destino 1989

• El 7 de Septiembre 1991

• Dalaï Lama 1992

• El fallo positivo 1992

• El club de los humildes 1998

Clips :

1981 ... the beginnings of a small group of strangers ... A group which in a few years will become one of the greatest legends of the decade !

1981 ... a sequel which confirms the first trend: there is talent in this little group !

1981 ... the enormous potential of the group is evident, as is the melodic quality of the compositions

1983 ... a slow but certain development. The best is yet to come, that's obvious ...

1983 ... the title that will change everything and project them overnight to the rank of stars. First in Spain ...

1984 ... a little Japanese delirium ... in total contradiction with their unbridled roots. In the form of provocation ?

1984 ... the group matures, the sound is more and more structured

1985 ... all smoothness and finesse. A ballad that calls many others ... and not the least

1986 ... the turning point ! Total change of look and the sound changes again. The Great Mecano is almost operational

1986 ... another magnificent ballad which once again highlights a high-flying inspiration

1987 ... a discography of incredible quality and which will remain as one of the richest of the decade

1987 ... the title of the planetary consecration. The notoriety of the group literally explodes !

1988 ... the WONDER ! What will remain as their jewel and one of the most beautiful songs of this end of the XXth century. MO-NU-MEN-TAL !

1989 ... the years go by and the quality does not weaken by an Iota ! Incredible but true !

1991 ... a change of decade perfectly mastered. Another title with inspiration of the very first order

1992 ... an ode to human rights that hits the bull's eye

1992 ... a title that combines strength and softness, all carried by a somewhat...wacky clip !

1998 ... this time, it is indeed the end. An end in apotheosis with - once again - a title of very high quality !

Wiki :

Fans Website :

Greatest Hits :

Discography :

Recent Posts

See All