top of page
Ukraine Jpeg.jpg

An emotional time...

Hothouse Flowers is an Irish group formed in 1985 by Liam Ó Maonlaí and Fiachna Ó Braonáin. Who will be joined quickly by a 3rd laron named Peter O’Toole.

A group whose artistic career suddenly took off during 1986 when Bono, the singer of U2, noticed them on television and decided to give them a little boost. A boost that allowed them to release a first Single "Love don’t work this way" in 1987. Single which unfortunately went somewhat unnoticed.

The Single that comes out just behind will have a totally different fate. Indeed, "Don’t go" which came out in the process will create a real worldwide hit and literally explode the reputation of the group internationally.

Their debut album "People", which was released a year later in 1988, would take advantage of the enormous suction effect and also experience a considerable level of global success. So much so that at the time he would get the title of "Biggest Start in Irish Musical History for a Debut Album", just that. Album that will produce a second Single of very high caliber with the title "I'm sorry".

New album "Home" at the dawn of the 90s, an album of lesser success but once again of global class. Album from which will be extracted mainly the flagship title "Give it up".

The album "Songs from the Rain" was released three years later in 1993, which was to be their last notorious success and which struggled to produce any hit worthy of the name. Only the Singles "An emotional time" and "Thing of beauty" will manage to save the furniture.

Other albums will be released later but will meet with very limited success.

To discover or rediscover...


Discography (among others ...) :

80s  Decade :

  • Love don't work this way 1987

  • Don’t go 1987

  • I’m sorry 1988

  • Easier in the morning 1988

90s  Decade :

  • Give it up 1990

  • I can see clearly now 1990

  • Movies 1990

  • Christchurch bells 1991

  • The rose 1991

  • An emotional time 1993

  • Thing of beauty 1993

  • One tongue 1993

  • Isn't it amazing ? 1993

  • You can love me now 1998

  • Learning to walk 1998

2000s  Decade :

  • Your love goes on 2004

  • Peace tonight 2004

2010s  Decade :

  • Baby it is over now 2016

  • Let's do this thing 2016


Tracks :

1987 ... a first title to launch the machine. When we already see the level of maturity displayed by the group, we imagine that the rest will be grandiose ...

1987 ... we suspected that the band had the potential to achieve something big. He proves it from this 2nd title with this enormous title which offers them their biggest record success and literally explodes their notoriety internationally. MAS-TER-FUL !

1988 ... the band confirms all the good we could think of him. New global top hit in a style that was however somewhat atypical for the time. An originality that will be as much a strength as a weakness ...

1988 ... at the end of the decade where everything is ultra Dance, the group positions himself on an original niche where there is little competition but which marginalizes them de facto

1990 ... after an empty year 1989, the group returns in an obvious form and especially with a sound which has evolved somewhat to stick a little more to the trends of the moment. Race results : new planetary top hit. HU-GE !

1990 ... the group delivers us here a revisited version of the flagship title of Johnny Nash released in 1972. And my faith, this version there is not necessarily the best cover of this title but largely holds the road, it is clear !

1990 ... the group re-enacts the sounds of the 80s, a daring bet but above all a bet lost in advance. Because the decade 90 goes very quickly, certainly too fast for them unfortunately ...

1991 ... a nice ballad which shows that the talent of the group can also be expressed in this area. An area that they should explore a little more ...

1991 ... new version revisited this time of the flagship title of Bette Midler dating from 1979. An astonishing Folko-Celtic version but with very limited success unfortunately ...

1993 ... new slump in 1992. We therefore find them in this year 1993 on a nice track once again all in finesse and the least we can say is that they are excellent really in this area !

1993 ... back to punchy mode. The group suddenly found its way to success in the USA, something he hadn't known for a few years ...

1993 ... a BIG year 1993 with a plethora of titles and an overall quality which shows that the group still has some under the pedal. For how long is that something else ...

1993 ... in a style that varies little, if not very little, the group continues on its way. Far from the top of the Charts but that's another story ...

1998 ... a big 5 years air hole and a stealthy comeback at the end of the decade. This time, the adventure is indeed coming to an end and this title will unfortunately change nothing ... adventure that is coming to an end on the Charts side, but the group intends to continue at all costs. And it doesn't matter whether there is now success or not...

2004...we will lose sight of them for almost 6 years and here they are again in this new decade 2000 in a form that we will qualify as certain. Certain but insufficient anyway to return to the front of the race...

2004...a nice title full of finesse which shows that the group has lost none of its talent, it is clear. It's already that...

2016... there it is downright 12 years that will separate this title from the previous one. The group tries a comeback for the less improbable during this decade 2010, comeback which will pass completely unnoticed unfortunately...

2016...will this title really be the last ? As we now know with them, everything is always possible. To be continued...


Wiki :

Official Website :

Greatest Hits :

Discography :


bottom of page